Monday, January 10, 2011

This is a first...

Well, I think this may be the first time any man has ever written a blog about a kid he doesn't have yet. Don't get me wrong, the wife and I are making a go at it this year; but nothing has happened yet. Why the title? You know how you have those nights where you're just laying in bed, jealously listening to your spouse breath easy, and you roll around trying to get comfortable, and you have peed like 8 times, got a drink (peed 6 more times because of that drink), fluffed your pillows and nothing works because all you can do is THINK! Think about dinner tomorrow, dread having to stop and get gas in the morning but you have to cause you work to damn far and will never make it there. You think about next christmas even though it's January... and when your wife says "it's time", you think about your future children. It's not just women who do this. Men get just as excited to have family life and while we may not delve quite as deep into picking out colors, we think of many things like how will we pay for college, and whats his/her first car will be, and how do we best intimidate would be boyfriends. Our kids mean as much to us as they do a mother, even before they are born.

In a nutshell thats how I got started on this blog. I figured I would keep it rolling for a while and when he/she came along then the title would fit. Until then I could poke fun at my own father. The only man I know who is so cheap he used to have me cut his hair for him by putting and actual bowl on his head. I was 10.
So this is it. First post out of the way? Went fairly smooth.

No comments:

Post a Comment