Wednesday, January 26, 2011

I swear I will do this...

Yeah fine. I proved it to myself. Resolutions are hard to keep. I didnt actually speak or "make" resolutions for this year. Nope. Mine are simply undone resolutions spanning several years. Forgotten. Pushed back. On hold. Call it what you want.I dont have to make them aloud. They just follow me from year to year...and then when New Years even comes around they turn around and slap me in the face. Guess what you didn't do? Again! Jerk.

I'll get back in my skinny jeans. Yeah, guys have them too. And we want to look the way we did in high school...erm...for the most part. I did do one thing. I applied to ASU to finish the last 60 credits to get my bachelors and finally say " I am the first in my family!"...and probably still work, underpaid, to help place homeless critters in good hands. Ah well. I like my coworkers at least. Thats something a lot of people wish for but seldom obtain..

I want to finish school for several reasons. Kristin (thats my wife) and I are planning to have a baby...which I probably already talked about. The idea of being a father excites me. It's a new step, a new generation. I am 32 years old. I've had fun. I am still young enough to have fun in a different way. In ways it is a magical thing, an adventure, in ways it seems like the next traditional steps that none of my friends haven't ventured into already. I guess it's my turn. So back to school. I plan to major in technical communications, even though I have always been more fond of creative writing, I suppose for a job technical is a different spectrum that may be boring or that may force me into learning a bunch of new things. Never a bad thing. Kristin is also going back to school. Should be fun. Thank god her mother gave her a lap top.

So 2011 is full of changes. If a baby is one of them remains to be seen but I'll keep you updated....maybe

Monday, January 10, 2011

This is a first...

Well, I think this may be the first time any man has ever written a blog about a kid he doesn't have yet. Don't get me wrong, the wife and I are making a go at it this year; but nothing has happened yet. Why the title? You know how you have those nights where you're just laying in bed, jealously listening to your spouse breath easy, and you roll around trying to get comfortable, and you have peed like 8 times, got a drink (peed 6 more times because of that drink), fluffed your pillows and nothing works because all you can do is THINK! Think about dinner tomorrow, dread having to stop and get gas in the morning but you have to cause you work to damn far and will never make it there. You think about next christmas even though it's January... and when your wife says "it's time", you think about your future children. It's not just women who do this. Men get just as excited to have family life and while we may not delve quite as deep into picking out colors, we think of many things like how will we pay for college, and whats his/her first car will be, and how do we best intimidate would be boyfriends. Our kids mean as much to us as they do a mother, even before they are born.

In a nutshell thats how I got started on this blog. I figured I would keep it rolling for a while and when he/she came along then the title would fit. Until then I could poke fun at my own father. The only man I know who is so cheap he used to have me cut his hair for him by putting and actual bowl on his head. I was 10.
So this is it. First post out of the way? Went fairly smooth.